Tags

, , , , ,

Kiwis have an interesting idiom here. They will use the comparative as as a superlative, and without stating the point of comparison. I guess that’s not very clear or interesting. Here’s what I mean:

When you’re comparing a given object/person/situation/etc. w/ its given point of reference, you might say something like this – He was as big as a narwhal.
Or this – His girlfriend is ugly as sin.
Or (more likely) this – I don’t remember how the night ended, I was drunk as hell.

We understand these comparisons to mean, basically, he was really, really big, or she is really, really ugly, or I was really, really wasted. In New Zealand, however, they don’t state what their initial reference is as adjective as.
Examples –
He was giddy as.
Led Zeppelin is heavy as.
I was sick as.

That’s it. They end their sentences too soon! And not only that, but they use the incomplete comparative clause to mean the giddiest, the sweetest, the most pathetic. Get it? A linguistic anomaly. Fascinating. I’ll bet you’re so happy you read that. I mean, happy as. Whatever.

