Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It’s not uncommon for someone to talk about how much weight they’ve lost while on a diet. Here in NZ, though, they’re a bit more particular than we are back in the US; while we might say, Oh yeah, I’m doing great, I haven’t lost any weight, but I haven’t gained any either, a Kiwi will describe his/her weight loss in stones. Since stones aren’t used in the States, I had no clue what anyone was talking about. Let me clue you in.

In imperial measure, a stone is a unit of weight equal to 14 lbs.

But wait! I hear you cry, New Zealand uses metric! Well, that’s true. But for some reason, many (most?) Kiwis know their weight in both stones and kilos (and true, a kilo is a unit of mass, not weight, but I’ll save that rant for another time).

If this hasn’t confounded you enough, check out some other thoughts on the confusion caused (for me) when Kiwis use both the metric and imperial systems.

